Scallion Beggars Purse with Roasted Sweet Red Pepper Sauce

If you know me, then you know I have a great love for all things French. I especially love those little French pancakes known as crêpes. I make them quite often and this morning I had a taste for a simple crêpe filled with a nice blend of mascarpone and cream cheeses with some type of berry sauce. However I had some rotisserie chicken in the fridge and thought that the chicken, along with a few other ingredients would make a nice savory crêpe. I had been planning on making scallion pancakes with a seafood entre, so I utilized that  idea  for my savory crêpes.  This was an “off the head” recipe…no set amount and measurement of ingredients. I just “went with it” as they say. I was very much pleased with the outcome. 

A nice long chive worked well  to cinch the crêpe

The scallions imparted a very lovely flavor to those delicate crêpes. Garnished with scallions, thyme, and squash blossoms

I sautéed one small shallot, 2 small red onions – fresh from one my veggie boxes – until translucent and fragrant. I added the shredded breast of rotisserie chicken to that and continued to saute. Next went in several sliced mushrooms. Continued to cook for a few minutes until they were cooked down a tad, and added cubes of zucchini, a chiffonade of swiss chard, grated ginger,  and mixed in some cream cheese. Finally, seasoned with fresh cracked black pepper and salt to taste. As mentioned this was not a “set” recipe. I just kind of went along by feel and what I wanted to taste in the final product. The ginger really gave it the flavor I wanted. It was just enough for the flavor palate I was looking for.

One of the roasted peppers for the red pepper sauce. Recipe at the bottom

Placed a small amount of the filling in the center of the crêpe, carefully bunched it together and cinched with a nice long chive. The recipe for the  crêpes is the one I use most often and can be found on this site by doing a search for crêpes. However for this recipe I added several minced scallions to the crêpe batter and blended in the food processor.

Red Pepper Sauce – Ingredients

2 Tbsp olive oil, 4 large red bell peppers (roasted), 1 large onion, 2 cloves of garlic (minced), 1/2 cup dry white wine, 1/2 cup heavy cream, salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste. 1 or 2 tbsp sugar for sweetness

Proceed

 I coated the peppers with a little olive oil, wrapped them in foil and baked at 350 for about 35 minutes. Heat the oil in a large, heavy skillet over medium heat. Add the peppers, onion, garlic, and saute  for about 5 minutes. Add the wine and simmer gently over low heat for about 20 minutes. Remove the pan from the heat and transfer 2/3 of the mixture to a food processor and puree. Then return the puree to the pan with the remaining 1/3 of the mixture. Stir in the cream, season with salt and pepper, and simmer over very low heat for about 15 minutes Stir in the parsley and simmer 5 minutes more.

Bon appétit et ont une merveilleuse journée!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 20,668 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

