Zucchini Stuffed Zucchini Blossoms, Zucchini Casserole, And Grilled Lamb Kofta

Those zucchini from my “Z” box were piling up a tad, so I decided to make one of my most favorite summer dishes–Stuffed Zucchini Blossoms–yet again. However, I was torn between that and Zucchini and Summer Yellow Squash Casserole. Well, there’s always a way to work it on out. I figured, why not make the zucchini casserole, then prepare the zucchini blossoms, and  stuff the zucchini blossoms with more zucchini from the zucchini and squash casserole! Sounded like a great idea to me. Then  I’ll serve the zucchini stuffed zucchini blossoms over a nice bed of  zucchini ribbons . Add a nice mellow sweet pepper sauce, and garnish with zucchini confetti. Did I say zucchini enough for you?  I thought so. Believe me, it was a delightful dish.

Zucchini blossoms stuffed with zucchini casserole. Go on, click the photo…see it larger

Served over ribbons of zucchini, garnished with yellow summer squash and zucchini confetti with sweet yellow pepper sauce–A tasty  balance of delicate flavors. For the sauce, I simply blended some (jarred) roasted sweet peppers with a little oil, cream, salt and pepper to a desired consistency, with a touch of powdered sugar

A summer favorite by far

Grilled Lamb Kofta with a creamy mint sauce over cous cous, to round the meal out.

For the Casserole:

4 pounds of yellow summer squash and zucchini mix

1 medium onion, chopped

1 Tbsp chopped red onion

1 Tbsp unsalted butter

3 cloves of minced garlic

1/4 cup heavy whipping cream

1/4 cup sour cream

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp fresh cracked black pepper

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

1/2 to 1 cup Panko or regular bread crumbs (I used Panko)

3 eggs

1/2 of grated Parmesan cheese–this is optional. I did not use it this time.

1 tsp fresh thyme

Slicing the cleaned and trimmed zucchini, chopping onions and garlic

I heated the olive oil and sauteed the onions until tender, then added the garlic and continued to cook until it released its fragrance. Next went in the zucchini and squash–continue to cook, mixing gently, until the squash is tender

The  cooked squash was added to a buttered baking  9 x 13 baking dish, then sprinkle over with the fresh thyme. The eggs, whipping cream, and sour cream was whisked together then poured over the squash and carefully mixed.

Topped with a few extra slices of yellow squash and zucchini that I had left over. This went into a 350 F preheated oven and baked for 30 minutes, topped with bread crumbs and baked until they were lightly browned, about 15 to 20 minutes more.  Now into that oven!

Out of the oven, garnished with a  fresh lemon thyme sprig

Deliciousness

Stuffed the casserole into the squash blossoms, then floured, dipped into an egg wash, rolled in Panko bread crumbs and fried until golder

I had also made falafel, and if you know me, then you know I absolutely love falafel. So, I stuffed a few more blossoms with falafel and cooked the same as the others. Delicious!!!

Threw the lamb on the grill

Ahhh, the smell of lamb is filling the air

Falafel Stuffed Zucchini Blossoms

Did I leave out the salad. Well how about a simple saute of zucchini and summer yellow squash in a little olive oil with red onions

Zucchini & Squash Stuffed Zucchini on a bed of zucchini ribbons, garnished with zucchini and squash confetti

Yes, zucchini was definitely highlighted in this dish. Zucchini Love, what more can I say?

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 21,067 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

