Once In A While—I’m Frying Chicken

Who does not love fried chicken. Granted, we all endeavor to live healthier lives and avoid among other things—fried food. We bake, broil, grill, roast, and broast.  However, there ain’t nothing like some good’ol fried chicken once in a while. My 12-year-old son Jay could eat fried chicken every day, so needless to say, it was a great day for him. Nothing special here, just seasoned, floured, and fried (dyed and laid to the side–oh I digress–a Sanford and Son episode just popped into my head lol.

Served with rice cooked in chicken stock and gravy

With a little garnishment of fresh sage and arugula

Generally I give the chicken nice overnight bath in seasoned buttermilk, but since I did this on the spur of the moment, it was very simple and basic. For 8 thighs, I seasoned 2 cups of flour with 2 Tbsp garlic powder, 2 Tbsp  onion powder, 1 Tbsp  black pepper, 1 tsp celery seeds,  1 Tbsp paprika, a dash of seasalt, and 1 tsp of  dried thyme.  I also seasoned the chicken thigh with the seasonings before coating with the flour. I Thourughly mixed the chicken in the flour, shook off any excess and deep fried at 350 F for minutes, turning the chicken at the half-way point, then allowing it to rest on paper towels before serving

Fry baby fry! Peanut oil would be the best choice,  but since Jay is allergic to peanuts, canola oil works just fine

Making the pan gravy–When I fry chicken on the stove, I’ll reserve some of the ‘drippings’  to make the gravy with. This time around I used 3 Tbsps of the oil used to deep fry the chicken, along with 1 Tbsp of butter–heated in a heavy bottom skillet, then sauteed red and green bell peppers, onions, garlic,  adding 1/4 tsp pepper.  Added 3 Tbsp flour, and blended over low heat until lightly browned. Slowly added 1 cup of chicken broth (constantly stirring), and 1/2 cup cream, salt to taste, and cook until smooth and creamy–about to 10 minutes

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jon
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 11:47:59

    Stick to chicken. But you do make me look insignificant Ruby Dee.
    I admire your cooking skills, and your photography is awesome!
    I’m actually Stephano Delorenza and I worship you and your skills Ruby Dee.

    Reply

    • mzrubyd
      Aug 05, 2013 @ 13:23:17

      Hello there Stephano A. Delorenza, yes I’ll stick to chicken and much, much, much more. I know
      who you are, and I know that you are a little immature inadequate, classless person with
      a Napoleonic complex as regards your intelligence, character, and imagined skills that you wish
      you had. You’re as fake and phony as a 3 1/2 dollar bill. You have a mental
      problem that is quite evident in how you attempt to portray yourself–which
      is a total sham and false, because you steal others food photos and pass them off as your own.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 21,346 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

