Smoked Salmon Stuffed Jalapeno Peppers–My Spicy Crave

Once in a while–quite often I might add–I get a taste for something spicy, and what better way to satisfy my spicy crave with none other than some nice stuffed jalapeno peppers. I always have smoked salmon hanging out in the fridge and of course there’s cream cheese sitting as its neighbor, so why not add those two together to create a lovely stuffed pepper. I made Jalapeno Poppers sometime ago, and the recipe for cutting the jalapeno and making the batter is the same here. The only difference this time around is that I didn’t do a double dredge in the flour.

Fried till nice and golden — Oh, que es tan bueno!

The dollop of sour cream nicely balanced the heat from the peppers

So I began by spitting the pepper length-wise, then making another cut across the top (forming a ‘T’),  scoop out the seeds and veins. Leave some of those seeds in if you really want some heat…the more the merrier. I stuffed them with a nice mixture of sautéed (minced) onion & garlic, smoked red bell peppers (who says you can’t stuff peppers with more peppers?), Jack cheese, cream cheese, mushrooms, and smoked salmon. Oh what joy!

A few of my favorite things

I had a little of the mixture left over, so I stuffed a small yellow bell pepper…that one has a pleasant mildness. The Stuffed Jalapeno Peppers were then dipped in the batter and fried in 350 F oil until nice and golden. As for the stuffed yellow bell pepper–it was baked at 350 for about 15 minutes

And my crave for spiciness was quite put at bay…for now that is

The yellow bell pepper had a wonderfully mild taste in contrast to the jalapeno peppers. It was quite welcoming after contending with the heat

Rounded the meal off with some quick Chicken and Cheese Quesadillas. More jalapenos  please!

Me encanta picante

And That’s My Crave For Spicy Thangs

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. richardmcgary
    May 19, 2013 @ 13:19:04

    Nicely done. Love the appetizer relleno. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 21,346 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

