Seafood Crepes With Clam Cream Sauce

Once in a while I get a hankering for crepes, (did I say hankering?) but it’s usually with something sweet in mind. This time I thought I would combine my love of shrimp and scallops with crepes, and this is what I came up with. I really didn’t know how I wanted to put this together…I knew I wanted a cream sauce of some sort. It all worked out in the end–Shrimp and scallop crepes with a creamy  sauce containing clams and oyster mushrooms. The Crepe recipe I used was taken from my Julia Child (who else?) cookbook. This is the only one I use thus far when making crepes. They consistently turn out very tasty and lite. The recipe is at the end of pictorial journey.

 

These didn’t stay on the table for very long

Garnished with a few cubes of tomato and zucchini, sautéed baby red onion

The creamy clammy sauce was very tasty, and those clams were ever so tender

Some medium size shrimp–cleaned and deveined; bay scallops rinsed and dried. I cut off as much as those little adductor muscles (point of attachment to the shell) as I could, but they’re so small…really didn’t matter much

Whole baby clams (1 large can)–rinsed and ready for flavorful action

Sautéed the seasoned (Old Bay, pepper, parsley) shrimp in a little olive oil until…

…they were nice and pink. Just sitting there  on the kitchen table basking in the western sun

Scallops into the pan next. I seasoned with a dash of salt, pepper, Old Bay, and a tad of garlic powder

To begin the sauce, I sautéed scallions, shallots, and some chopped onion in two Tbsp butter until they softened a bit

Added chopped garlic and continued cooking until the garlic gave off its ‘garlicky’ fragrance

Added about one Tbsp flour, mixed until thickened

In goes the cream ( you can uses half and half or milk to lighten it up). One cup of cream, stirred until it was well blended, followed by one cup of milk to get the consistency I desired

After the sauce was nice and smooth at the desired consistency, the clams entered and enjoyed a gentle simmer

Stirred in some chopped zucchini and oyster mushrooms.  At this point I seasoned with salt and pepper, and added honey little by little to get the flavor I wanted. I didn’t want it to be overpoweringly sweet–but just a hint of sweetness. I used about 1 Tbsp and 1 tsp. Afterwards I added those sun-basking shrimp and the scallops

Spoon onto our crepes; roll or fold them over…

..and drizzle more sauce over top, with a little chop of fresh parsley

And we have a wonderful Seafood Crepe meal

My oh my oh my

For a simple dessert–add cream cheese on the crepe, give it a roll, serve with a brandy-strawberry cream sauce with a dollop of crème fraîche

Crepe recipe, courtesy of Julia Child:    

Julia

1 cup flour

2/3 cup milk

2/3 cup water

3 large eggs

1/4 tsp salt

6 Tbsp clear melted butter (spooned off from the milky residue)

Proceed:

In a mixing bowl, whisk the flour to clear out any clumps, then slowly whisk in the milk and water to make a perfectly smooth blend. Whisk in the eggs, salt, and 3 Tbsp of the melted butter. Be sure to let the butter cool considerably so as not to ‘cook’ the eggs.  Most likely you’ll use all purpose flour. In which case allow the batter to rest for about 1 hour in the refrigerator.

When you’re ready to make those crepes, of course allow the batter to attain to room temperature. Heat your crepe pan (non-stick skillet) until drops of water ‘dance’ on it, then brush lightly with melted butter. Pour 1/4 cup  (I used my 1/4 measuring cup) into the center of the hot pan and tilt in all directions to spread it out into a nice thin circle. After 30 seconds or so, the bottom of the crepe should be very lightly browned. Simply lift and edge with your spatula (or fingers as I did–ouch, hot!) and give it a peek. At this point a gentle shake of the pan should cause the crepe to move around. Turn it over with your fingers or with the help of the spatula. If you’re in that confident daring mood, give the crepe a flip with a toss of the pan. Cook 15 to 20 seconds. Julia says this will be the ‘nonpublic’ side. Place on a platter. Add a tad more butter to the pan–I used about 1 tsp and gave the pan a swirl–add another 1/4 cup of batter and continue in this manner until you’ve used all the batter or made your desirable amount of crepes.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephano Delorenza
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 11:47:04

    Appetizing and yet again, wonderfully plated. I have so much
    admiration for your food blog. I’m your # 1 fan Chef Ruby.
    I love your creativity. What inspires you?
    I only wish to have your talent 🙂

    Reply

  2. mzrubyd
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 15:24:56

    What inspires me? Food!–my love and passion for food, the Culinary Arts, Cooking, great wine…I could go on and on. I’m a wine connoisseur as well. Again, I detest your accusing me of stealing your photos, when you and I both, as well as many others know that you’re just a “wannabee” Chef. You have dreams of grandeur of being an Executive Chef. That is so preposterous as you steal so many photos that others have created and falsely state you did it. Whats really disturbing is when you post that you ate the food! Now that’s psychotic. How could that be when you never cooked it? It must be very sad and lonely living in a world of pretense Stephano A. Delorenza. Such a sad, sad maniacal shame.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 20,668 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

