Potato-Crusted Catfish

Well, I still had some of those mudcats around and thought I would do a dish that I hadn’t done in quite a while. My first thought was catfish with a mash of parsnips, but for some reason, potatoes have been on my mind. Earlier in the week I did make a nice batch of mashed potatoes, but my hunger was for crispy potatoes and french fries were not an option. I often to a large crispy round of shredded potatoes to have with breakfast at times… and yes!!… that was the flavor and texture I wanted. So, why not take those shredded potatoes and encrust the catfish fillets with them. I get my fish, and my taste for those crispy spuds are satisfied as well.

Add a little Crème Fraîche and smattering of chopped scallions

We begin by seasoning our cleaned catfish fillets with a little fresh cracked black pepper, oregano, garlic powder, thyme,  onion powder, paprika, and a little cayenne pepper

Next we take our Dijon mustard (or regular mustard if you don’t have Dijon), and spread it evenly on both sides of those mudcats!

Now coat the catfish fillets on both sides with the shredded potatoes, and gently press them in. I shredded the potatoes right into a bowl of cold water. When I got to this stage, I squeezed as much water as possible out of them and placed them on a kitchen towel (or paper towel) to remove still as much water from them that remained.

Heat a small amount of olive oil (canola perhaps) in a non-stick oven-proof pan, and carefully added the fillets to the pan. Cook for about 5 minutes until the potatoes are browning (check by lifting and edge of the filet if necessary), then flip and brown the other side.  My non-stick pan isn’t oven-proof, so I cooked the fillets in it, then transferred them to a baking dish and baked at 350 for about 15 to 20 minutes, until the fish was done

Ahhh….that’s looking good. Those potatoes have gotten that crispness that I so desired. Afterwards I transferred them to my baking dish and into that awaiting 320 oven

Out of the oven! Season with salt and pepper if you so desire

Potato Crusted Catfish

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 21,346 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

