Lobster & Scallops In Honey Cream Sauce

This is a recipe that well, just came to mind as I was pursuing the isles of Costco–I could practically live in that store! I really had chicken of some sort in mind for the day’s dinner, but then I happened past the seafood…and you know me and seafood. Once I caught sight of those big, beautiful lobster tails, I stopped in my tracks. I looked at the king crab legs, but at $20.00/lb (I thought that was ridiculous!),…so that was out. However, moving on…er, not moving on because I was still standing in front of those lobster tails, I thought about what would I do with them.  I asked the seafood guy to just tell me the price of one…he weighed it…didn’t seem to bad and I told him to bag it! However, I didn’t want to broil it or put it out on the grill whole. I thought about that lobster and mushroom omelet I made for hubby several days ago, and how succulent and sweet the lobster meat was, and thought I would do a rough chop on it again this time around and serve it in some fashion over pasta. Still no concrete recipe or idea in mind, but thought I needed another seafood element to compliment it and scallops seemed like the obvious choice, so I picked up a few of those and below is what came about.

This was hubby’s plate. He thoroughly enjoyed it.

I decided to clean and prepare the lobster shell and stuff everything into it. I thoroughly enjoyed it also! Served with sautéed zucchini and garnished with enoki mushrooms, with a few strips of broiled sirloin. I guess you could call it a ‘surf n turf’  of sorts.

Happiness in a lobster shell

 Accompanying salad–mixed greens and broiled sirloin with balsamic vinaigrette

This is how I went about creating this not so complicated dish.

Chopped red and green bell peppers, onions, shallots, garlic, some of the leningrad garlic, and of course scallops and a lobster tail

Added everything into a saute pan with extra virgin olive oil except the garlic and sautéed until the onions were opaque

In went the garlic and Leningrad garlic–sautéed until those released their respective fragrances

This is leningrad garlic. A very good friend gave this to me from his garden. It has a wonderful aroma and very nice flavor

Added chopped shiitake mushrooms–gotta have my mushrooms!! Salt, fresh cracked black pepper

Fresh spinach, cook until wilted

Time to remove from the heat and set aside

Split the lobster tail with my heavy-duty kitchen sheers, removed the meat and seasoned with garlic powder, Old Bay, pinch of salt and fresh cracked black pepper, gave it a rough chop and…

…into the pan with the scallops. Actually you’ll want to add the scallops first as the lobster meat cooks a tad quicker. Cook until just done. We don’t want to over cook–who wants rubbery tasteless seafood??

Added heavy whipping cream to the pan–about 2 1/2 cups

Add a hand full of fresh chopped parsley and about 1 tsp tarragon

In goes the honey…about 1 1/2 Tbsp. We don’t want it too sweet, but juuussstttt enough to give a mild sweetness. stir and cook a few minutes to incorporate all of those flavors

A Tbsp cream cheese to add a little more depth to the richness of flavors

Some of those most delicate and dainty looking enoki mushrooms make their entrance to the party

And now adding the lobster and scallops back, and just mix on a very low heat so that all of the ingredients get very well acquainted with one another. No need to ‘cook’  the seafood any further. Basically just warming through

I find that this Buitoni fettuccine is the next best thing to fresh at present…and until I buy a pasta machine and learn to make pasta, this is the way to go. There’s a big difference in the flavor, taste, and texture as opposed to the dry pasta, but if you must use dry, that’s quite alright. I keep dry pasta on hand, but whenever I can, I’ll choose fresh, or ‘close to fresh’

Into the boiling salted water for a few minutes

Marinated steaks awaiting the broiler–marinated with salt, pepper & balsamic vinegar, and a dash of  Worcestershire sauce

Sautéed the sliced zucchini in a little butter with fresh dill, salt & fresh cracked black pepper

Fini !

Lobster & Scallops in Honey Cream Sauce

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Eftychia
    Jun 14, 2012 @ 14:04:43

    Complicated, but delicious! Thanks for the step by step instructions and photos. Nice work!

    Reply

  2. sybaritica
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 23:34:55

    So professional looking and really nicely plated. especially with the enoki mushrooms.

    I’m going to keep that honey with cream idea in mind!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 21,067 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

