Pan Seared Salmon With Dill Sauce And Stuffed Grape Leaves

The temperature kind of got up there a tad today — about 92, and I really did NOT want to turn the stove on–well at least not for a very long time. Braised Short Ribs were initially on my menu, but after piddling around outside in the heat, I didn’t want more heat in the kitchen. So I chose something simple and quick. Besides, I still had some salmon left over from making the Walnut Crusted Salmon…might as well finish it off. 

My youngest son is allergic to fish, so I got the old deep fryer out and fried up a few pieces of chicken for him and his big brother of course. I also threw a few fresh ears of corn in the microwave for a few minutes (really has a nice flavor), and I already had green peas on hand (yes, they must eat their peas!), so that was a meal for those two. I think everyone was happy…I wasn’t in the kitchen long, the oven wasn’t turned on, and they all got a meal they enjoyed…Mr. B and I enjoyed the salmon…thus, I was a happy camper.

The Stuffed Grape Leaves added a nice flavor palate–a touch of Mediterranean. Perhaps an unlikely pair, but I found it   to be quite nice. Added a few sliced tomatoes, fresh dill to garnish and capers…oh how I love capers!

Image

First marinated in a little lemon juice & extra virgin olive oil, a dash of fresh cracked black pepper, and a little garlic sea salt—15 minutes, then seared. Normally I’ll do the non-skin side first for several minutes then flip, and sear till done

Image

All done and garnished with sliced cucumbers and radishes–well they’re suppose to mimic scales–and fresh dill

Image

Closer

Image

Pan Seared Salmon with Dill Sauce And Stuffed Grape Leaves

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mzrubyd
    Aug 05, 2013 @ 15:17:23

    Much appreciated “John.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 21,032 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

