Iris & Company

When I’m not thinking of something to cook, I love getting out into the backyard and piddle around with my flowers. Things got off to a grand start with that blast of ‘summer’ in March, but this is Michigan, so things went back to “normal” in April and seemingly everything just halted…well slowed down to a crawl anyways. But those Irises didn’t seem to matter much about all that, and they’re doing just dandy.

My little Iris patch. My former neighbor brought over 2 Irises from my old back yard that was adjacent to her yard. Seems the new occupant of our former home don’t really care much for flowers and got rid of all the irises. But a few had made their way under the fence into my neighbors yard, and she was kind enough to bring me a couple of them. That was about 4 years ago, and they’ve been growing strong ever since. I greatly appreciated her thoughtfulness…she knows how I love my flowers. She’s a “flower” girl as well.

Lovely colors

Lets look inside shall we…

Only our Loving Creator could create such intricate beauty

Allium. Look closely and you’ll spy a few ants busy about their business.

Go to the ant, you lazy one; see its ways and become wise. 7 Although it has no commander, officer or ruler, 8 it prepares its food even in the summer; it has gathered its food supplies even in the harvest.” (Proverbs 6:6-8)

Azalea

Azalea up close

Poppy–While out and about in the neighborhood last weekend, me and a friend of mine (who loves flowers as much as I do) spotted 3 large flowers on the other side of the street. I told her that we needed to go take a better look, and we did just that. Upon closer inspection, those three big blooms were ever so beautiful! Poppies!! And those were just the three that had bloomed. There was a nice little patch of them in various stages of growth and many were on the verge of blooming. Well! Seeing that this was a vacant lot, and the flowers were just at the edge of the sidewalk…we looked at each other and said almost simultaneously; “We’re coming back with our shovels.” And we did just that the very next day bright and early in the AM. We were to women working those shovels.

Poppy getting ready to pop on out.

So this is my ‘transplant’ in my back yard. They’ll survive just fine. Just have to get over the initial shock of being plucked up and relocated. Next year they’ll be back with a vengance

This one has lost its wrapper and ready for the ‘unfolding’

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 21,067 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

