Roasted Salmon

Yesterday (Friday) I spent the day, and I mean most of the early part of the day (from about 8:00 AM to 2:00 PM) outside in my yard cutting the front lawn, edging, weed whacking, pullling up weeds, and so on.  Still I’m not finished—have to trim the shrubs, and do a little re-seeding…well that goes on and on. I’m a “yardner” girl, so I’m always outside piddling around with the lawn, flowers, vegetables and so on.  Of course I ALWAYS have my camera handy, and I snapped a photo of this allium as it’s just beginning to unfold it’s pretty little purple package of petite flowers…now say that five times very fast lol.

Allium, I love flowers

In any event, the whole time I was working outside, I could not get salmon off of my mind. I knew I would be cooking salmon, but just how I wanted it escaped me. I really couldn’t settle on a recipe in my mind, and believe me I thought of many ways to cook it, and what type of sauce to go with it. Later in the kitchen I was still not sure, but I did decide that I would roast it in the oven. So this is what I came up with. I just made a quick marinade using olive oil, soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, brown sugar, fresh chopped garlic and ginger, fresh cracked black pepper, red pepper flakes, and a few spices.

Served with Quinoa and Brown Rice.

Marinading with all that I mentioned above, pluse a ginger-garlic spice blend. Baked in a 400 degree preheated oven for about 20 to 25 minutes

Out of the oven, let it rest a few minutes before digging in.

Garnished with chopped scallions and capers. The capers really added a nice ‘tangy’ little burst of saltiness that balanced nicely with the subtle sweetness of the brown sugar. Perhaps I’ll add a sauce of some sort today

Vegetable for the day was Cabbage

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 21,346 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

