Grilled Lamb Loin Chops with a Garlic Port Wine Reduction Sauce and Rosemary Skewered Shrimp

The weather has been so lovely lately. Not too hot with that drenching high humidity,  and not too cool. Yes, just right. But I must mention, no matter what the weather, I’m thankful for each day. Of course my grill beckons me to come outside and throw something on it. Well, actually my grill never rests. Summer, Fall, Winter, Spring, rain, sleet, snow, or shine, I’ll lite the grill up any time.  I had several lamb loin chops marinading over-night. Generally I’ll broil them on high heat, but it was all about the grill today. The garden is still giving its yield of yellow summer squash, zucchini, tomatoes, corn, etc.  I took some of  the cooking outside and This is how the day went. It was a surf-n-turf kind of day

Breaded zucchini was the vegetable for the day along with the grilled corn

The port wine reduction sauce was a perfecto for this meal

As mentioned above…a little “marination” action.  Freshly minced garlic, fresh chopped rosemary, olive oil to coat, salt and fresh cracked black pepper

Seasoned the shrimp with pepper, Old Bay, fresh chopped parsley, and a little extra virgin olive oil

Skewered eight of the shrimp with a few fresh sprigs of rosemary. I don’t know about you, but I absolutely love the smell of rosemary

I also had a few chicken thighs on hand, so I deboned  and seasoned them.  With  two  of them, I removed the skin and  placed goat cheese, chopped sun-dried tomatoes, and fresh basil leaves on the inside

The other two, I left the skin on. Ready to roll up

Rolled them all up, wrapped a piece of bacon around each, and secured with toothpicks

The chimney starter is getting those coals ready! I prefer using the chimney starter as opposed to lighter fluid. I really don’t like the smell of lighter fluid

And onto the grill with our Surf-N-Turf meal.  That rosemary smells even better now

Yes, everything is looking and smelling great! I think my neighbors are zeroing in on the smoke

The shrimp are coming along ‘shrimpingly.’ I can’t even describe the sweet aroma of the rosemary at this point

All of the shrimp make their exit from the grill

The shrimp are off of the grill and anxiously awaiting…I could stop right now and be thoroughly happy just eating the shrimp. However, it’s time to get those lamb chops off of the grill as well

Cooked to medium rare

Port to make the  Garlic Port Wine Reduction.  I used 1 Tbsp olive oil, 1/2 cup of the port, 1/2 cup chicken stock, 1 Tbsp red wine vinegar, 12 cloves of garlic–whole and peeled,  salt & pepper to taste. Added everything to a pan, brought it  to a boil, then covered, lowered the flame and simmered for 15 minutes. Afterwards, with the lid removed, just keep cooking until it reduces to a lovely syrupy consistency

A little of that port went right nicely in my  petite glass. We’ll save the rest for another cooking (perhaps?)adventure

This was not a complicated meal at all…satisfying and tasty.  The stuffed chicken thighs were quite tender, juicy, and tasty. I love goat cheese, and along with the basil and sun-dried tomatoes–the flavors worked very well  together and complemented each other. Had I not turned my back I would have had a lovely photo of them, but that’s what happens when I have hungry people in the kitchen before I can get my camera ready. But that’s quite alright. When they’re happy, I’m happy, and I hope this post  has made you happy in some way   :-)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bam's Kitchen (@bamskitchen)
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 04:14:28

    Everything looks fabulous and I am sure your guests and family loved every bite. Love that garlic port wine reduction sauce. Take Care, BAM

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 13,844 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 766 other followers

